Georgia SR22A Insurance
Call for a free SR22 Quote (888) 551-1991
Georgia SR22A insurance is required for license reinstatement. Unlike SR22 programs in other states, SR22A premiums are paid in full for a six month term; there is no monthly premium payment option. Whether you need to file an owner or non owner Georgia SR22A insurance certificate, you can count on UltraCar Insurance to find the best rate possible.
What is Georgia SR22A Insurance?
Georgia SR22A insurance is a certificate of financial responsibility rider attached to a policyholder’s primary auto insurance policy (owner’s insurance), or filed alone (non owners insurance). When a driver purchases Georgia SR22A insurance, it is filed by their insurance provider with the Georgia Department of Motor Vehicles as a prerequisite for license reinstatement. After reinstatement, the SR22A certificate confirms that the driver maintains the required amount of liability insurance, and the certificate is monitored closely by the insurance provider for the time period required by the state of Georgia. If the policy is allowed to lapse, expire or cancel. the insurance company files an SR26 form with the Georgia DMV, and the individual’s driver’s license is once again suspended.
Certain driving violations or other circumstances can result in an individual being designated as a high risk driver, requiring them to purchase a Georgia SR22A insurance certificate. Examples include:
- Child support or neglect cases
- Legal judgments
- Uninsured vehicle accidents
- Refusal to take a breath or blood alcohol test
- DUI or DWI offenses
- Excessive points against a DMV record
Most drivers who are required to carry Georgia SR22A insurance will need to do so for three years, depending on the circumstance.
There are two types of Georgia SR22A insurance: owner and non owner insurance. Owner SR22A insurance is for drivers who own a vehicle and need to have their driver’s license reinstated. Non owner SR22A insurance is for drivers who do not own a vehicle and want to have their driver’s license reinstated. See our Georgia Non Owner SR22A page for more information on this option.
Georgia requires drivers who own a vehicle to carry a minimum amount of auto liability insurance. Below are the legal minimum requirements, but higher amounts can be purchased.
- $25,000 property damage incurred in one accident
- $50,000 for two or more persons in one accident
- $25,000 bodily injury for one person in one accident
More Information can be found at the Georgia DMV Website.
UltraCar Insurance in Georgia
Drivers can obtain free multiple quotes for Georgia SR22A insurance from UltraCar Insurance – a leading company for all SR22A needs, whether you own a vehicle or not. We do the shopping for you, so you don’t have to. Submit your inquiry using our secure online form, or give us a call today!