Colorado SR22 Insurance
Call for a free SR22 Quote (888) 551-1991
Colorado SR22 insurance is premium insurance for high risk drivers, so finding the best rate is essential. When you need SR22 insurance to reinstate your driver’s license, count on UltraCar Insurance for low rates and quick submission of your SR22 filing. We work on your behalf, surveying top rated companies for the best owner and non owner SR22 insurance rates. In most cases we can issue and file your Colorado SR22 insurance certificate with the state within 20 minutes.
What is Colorado SR22 Insurance?
Colorado SR22 Insurance is a requirement for driver’s license reinstatement. There are two types of SR22 insurance: owner and non owner. Colorado SR22 owner insurance is certificate of financial responsibility that is attached to a driver’s primary auto insurance policy. It is for drivers who have a vehicle registered in their name and want to have their license reinstated. Drivers who do not own a vehicle, but wish to reinstate their suspended or revoked license need to purchase a Colorado SR22 non owner insurance policy. Colorado non owner SR22 insurance is filed in the same way as owner SR22 insurance, but it is a liability-only policy that covers the policyholder when they drive a non owned vehicle on an occasional basis. A non owner SR22 policy acts as secondary insurance to the vehicle owner’s primary insurance. It does not cover household vehicles, rental or commercial vehicles.
Drivers who are required to carry Colorado SR22 insurance must do so without lapse for a period of one to three years. When SR22 insurance is purchased, the insurance company issues and files the SR22 certificate with the Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles. If the SR22 policyholder fails to keep their Colorado SR22 insurance in force at all times during the required time period, the insurance company will submit an SR26 filing to the DMV, which results in repeat driver’s license suspension. This is a costly mistake that can result in additional fines up to $500.00 or even jail time.
Colorado minimum liability insurance requirements:
- $25,000 bodily injury for one person in one accident
- $50,000 for two or more persons in one accident
- $15,000 property damage incurred in one accident
More Information can be found at the Colorado DMV Website.
UltraCar Insurance in Colorado
Whether you need owner or non owner Colorado SR22 insurance, you can count on UltraCar Insurance to find the best rate possible. As soon as we receive your online or phone request, we begin surveying several insurance companies to find the best rate for you. Use our secure online form to submit your request, or give us a call today!